Soulshine

“Always remember that, nine times out of ten, you probably aren’t having a full-on nervous breakdown ⏤ you just need a cup of tea and a biscuit.”

Greetings my dear readers. This post might not be all sunshine and rainbows, but it’s okay to give the sun a break sometimes. You see, we always try to have a rosy outlook on life, and everything is golden; but sometimes it’s hard to keep that up. That is the truth of life. That in the course of living we run through many emotions. Sometimes, it’s better to let those emotions take their time. Instead of constantly trying to change some emotions, constantly trying to make them better, sometimes we should just let them be. And once they’ve run their course, we can get our soulshine back too.

Yes, happiness is in our hands. We get back what we put out into the universe, so we should exude good vibes. But self-awareness is a beautiful thing, and when we realise that we feel down, instead of forcing ourselves to snap back, we should take a step back and think about why we feel what we feel. And once we do, it’s much easier to come back up.

wp-1481987751826.jpg

I must admit, I am not the biggest fan of Kahwa, but once in a while blue moon, I do steep myself some. And then regret it. But hey, that’s just me. Kahwa, or qehwa as it is called in Urdu, is like the Masala Chai of Kashmir. Adding cardamom, cinnamon, and saffron to green tea makes it. It is most commonly served in small, shallow cups. You can safely say that the purpose of this post is more about showcasing my pretty cups (and beautiful antique tray) rather than the tea itself. I had a bag of Goodwyn‘s Kashmiri Kahwa and pretty cups my dad gave me, so I had to do a post on it.

wp-1481987760320.jpg

 

I, being the ignorant, still-in-the-process-of-learning teatotaller, did not know that this was green tea. I should have, but I didn’t. And so I brewed it with boiling water, making it a bitter, astringent punishment for myself. I still drank it all. I couldn’t taste much of the saffron or cinnamon in it at all, but I did taste the cardamom, which was so strong it tasted like clove. However, it was still shiny, beautiful, golden liquor with an amazing spiced aroma.

wp-1481987781449.jpg

wp-1481987767451.jpg

I’ll have to give it another try sometime, maybe make it from scratch since I have the spices and some plain green tea with which I intend to make Kashmiri noon chai. But if you are a fan of warm, spiced teas, you should definitely give this a try. And always remember my dear reader ⏤ “Let your soulshine, it’s better than sunshine, it’s better than moonshine, damn sure better than rain.”

All the love, T.

 

One thought on “Soulshine

Leave a Reply

