Whimsical Me, Whimsical Tea

I like my tea strong & with a whole lot of whimsy!

Most days we wake up to a cup of tea, either green or black or with a whole lot of milk. And then some days we just float along dreamily with aromatic tea experiences that come and go on a whim. I, for one, am quite kaleidoscopic in my temperament. I mostly remain sensible, but then I suddenly realise that life is quite boring without a little madness, and then I find that I simply must make myself some sort of exotic concoction to match my mood.

Just yesterday, I visited my closest friend and she served me some brilliantly fruity and aromatic tea that we enjoyed just as immensely as we enjoy each other’s company. And riding back home through the city at night, I could feel myself swirling on the inside. Once home, I went ahead and (on a whim) steeped some amazing Jasmine tea. This Royal Tea from a tea lounge bar by the name of Finjaan is probably the most aromatic tea I have had; or maybe it was my hazy mind that made me think so.

Finjaan Royal Tea

Finjaan Royal Tea

The tea is called Jasmine Pearls and is from the Royal Tea range of Finjaan. A fine white tea with the most heavenly fragrance, this drink is truly fit for royalty. Jasmine pearls is technically loose-leaf tea, but the leaves are rolled up into tiny pellets and dried, and unfurl when brewed. They become shiny and plump again, even after infusing water with all their magic.

The dry Jasmine Pearls

The dry Jasmine Pearls

The unfurled tea leaves after brewing

The unfurled tea leaves after brewing

The colour develops into a light yellow and the heady aroma that floats around teapot and cups makes you feel like you are Alice and currently in Wonderland, perhaps on your way to visit the Hatter. I decided to drink the tea in my beautiful blue and white filigree glasses because a tea as special as this deserves crockery that is at least a little bit whimsical.

Yellow tea

Yellow tea

Whimsical glasses for whimsical tea

Whimsical glasses for whimsical tea

This tea is all about the aroma. It doesn’t have a potent flavour, but it’s still an onslaught on the senses. It has a floral head, a herb body and an undoubtedly jasmine tail. Have you ever licked a Jasmine flower? I have, and the aftertaste of this tea is quite like that. Though some might think that is repulsive, it really isn’t all that bad, take my word for it. It is a very light and airy tea, yet quite enjoyable.

So, my dear reader, when nothing else will restore the fantastical in your life, and you turn towards tea, try some Jasmine tea to bring back the whimsical side of you. I can guarantee that you’ll go mad, just like all the best people!

Have yourself a cup of whimsy

Have yourself a cup of whimsy

All the love, T.

Leave a Reply

