Tea and Wanderlust

“All I really want to do is spend my life travelling the world, reading books that take my breath away, drinking all kinds of tea and occasionally writing something.”

Here’s the thing about dreamers, their hearts and souls are forever restless. And so is the case with me. I don’t know who wrote the above quote, but I have never read something that describes my desires quite so well. It is the definition of bliss for me.

I was gripped by a particularly strong sense of wanderlust while sipping some tropical fruit tea the other day. This tea, by Lipton was another little present from my sister. The name is aptly given, since you can really taste the tropics in this sweet and mellow tea. It was a bittersweet experience for me, because although I immensely enjoyed the tea, the intense yearning for the gypsy life left me a little low. Here I am, wishing to travel and read and float through life, and what I really must do is prepare for exams.

Tropical tea in my Sherlock mug

Tropical tea in my Sherlock mug

However, this is not going to be a pity party. Let me tell you more about the tea. I steeped it in my Sherlock mug for two minutes in hot water. The colour developed into a deep reddish orange. It was bright yet considerably clear. The citrusy aroma was wafting up and making my mouth water. The first notes that hit me were definitely fruity and were followed by a distinct flavour I couldn’t quite place. It was sweet and reminded me slightly of citrus teas. After looking up a flavour wheel, I can only describe the body notes as tropical. The tail notes that I could detect were of pineapple.

The deep jewel-like colour of the Tropical Fruit tea

The deep jewel-like colour of the Tropical Fruit tea

This is the kind of tea that really carries you away. I suspect this tea would also be an excellent choice for making iced tea. I intend to try it, and I shall update you about how that goes. In the meanwhile, I urge you to try this tea and experience its wonders on the senses. Relive your dreams, dear reader, and then get up and reach for them once you finish your tea.

All the love, T.

3 thoughts on “Tea and Wanderlust

  1. Pingback: A Quick Little Update | tinklingteacups

Leave a Reply

