The Wonders of Chamomile Tea

I shall always drink tea, in sickness and in health, till death do us apart.

This past week could be awarded the title of ‘The Worst Week of the Year’ and it would be completely fitting. Because that it is exactly how bad my week was. You might be wondering what could have happened that made it the absolute worst week of the year. Well, I fell ill. It started with a little discomfort in my throat, a slight fever, and in the course of one day, it went from that to a full-blown burning fever and a sore throat so severe that I couldn’t even breathe much less swallow. I felt like I was being slowly roasted, and my throat felt like there were a million needles stuck in it. By the time night rolled around, I was almost delirious with fever and couldn’t even swallow water without squeezing my eyes shut and mentally bracing myself.

In all this, tea was the only comfort, unsurprisingly. The first day, all I consumed was a cup of hot milk tea and a bun. The next day, after visiting the doctor and taking medicine, I couldn’t keep anything down. I was throwing up and was constantly nauseous because of the pain in my throat. So then I read online that Chamomile tea actually soothes a sore throat. Who would’ve known? And so I proceeded to make myself a cuppa and relaxed as the hot liquid slid down my throat, soothing the rawness and the ache.

Chamomile tea is not actually tea in its strictest form, but a tisane or tisana. It contains no caffeine and does not come from the tea-plant Camellia Sinensis. It is a daisy-like plant that is brewed and consumed as is. I did know that Chamomile is useful in treating insomnia and mild anxiety, but I recently read that it is also used in treating inflammation, muscle spasm, menstrual disorders, hay fever, ulcers and even gastrointestinal disorder. All this from a tiny little white flower. Now Chamomile tea doesn’t treat all of that, but it will help you relax and sleep, and of course, soothe a sore throat.

The only Chamomile tea that I have ever had has been from tea bags, but it was excellent nevertheless. I have tried two brands so far – Newby and Goodwyn. Newby is a brand based in the UK while Goodwyn is based in India. Both brands, however, are available internationally, I believe. I bought mine off of Amazon. In terms of taste, I would say they are both pretty close, however I will lean slightly towards Newby. Their chamomile tea has a wonderful viscosity and a naturally sweet and mellow taste. It is an experience, dear reader. Goodwyn is close behind, but their chamomile tea lacks a little in the depth of flavour. However, Goodwyn is a tiny bit more affordable than Newby.

Whatever brand or type of chamomile tea you choose to go for, I can vouch for the fact that will be extremely addictive. It is an amazing tisane that can be brewed in minutes, and has the most beautiful yellow colour and mellow taste. I urge you to try it, and fall in love with. You will not regret it, dear reader.

All the love, T.

Chamomile Tea

Chamomile Tea

Leave a Reply

